Album Review: Upfull Rising’s Edgewood

Upfull Rising
Released: 7/31/17

A couple really rad things about this album:

  1. The more I listen to it, the more I like it. “Allie, that’s how all music is”, you think to yourself. No, but you don’t understand. At first listen they were a maybe 6.5 in my extra-accurate-not-at-all-based-on-my-mood rating system. After the third go-around I found myself swaying my hips and singing choruses I didn’t even know I knew.
  2. It’s VERY LONG. At 16 tracks including the intro & outro, it clocks in at over 74 minutes. Perfect for chill house party vibes or, heck, even a kid’s birthday bash lyrics are so squeaky clean.
  3. I think what I really like the most about this album is that each song carries its own weight; no one song is better than the other, they’re just different. Each is its own individual entity. Behind them is evident creative difference from founding members Corey Brennan and Bob Cook, coupled with what I’m sure is many sleepless night, tears and laughter.

The music itself is very satisfying. The bass lines are punchy, bubbles airy and cushioned with lovely horns. There are some really good guitar solos too, my favorite being the cosmic, Pink Floyd-ey intro riff in “As One”. Some songs like “Freedom Fighter” and “Trickery” are Calypso AF, and even though overall the album is rootsy at it’s core, it is very floaty and carefree in a way I can’t describe in words. I’d have to show you with my hips.

You can listen to the full album here.

1. Intro
2. Rhythm
3. Vibration
4. Stepping Stone
5. As One
6. Gopher Hole
7. Rootsman
8. Freedom Fighter
9. Blast
10. Bloodsuka
11. Dread
12. Lighthouse
13. Humble Them
14. Love & Faith
15. Trickey
16. Outro